New Candys


Hailing from Venice, Italy, New Candys formed in 2008. Described as dark modern rock’n’roll, the band combines noisy, brooding sounds with distinct melodies while displaying a dynamic and symbiotic connection between their music and meticulously crafted visual imagery. The band consists of Fernando Nuti, Andrea Volpato, Alessandro Boschiero and Dario Lucchesi.

Released in 2012, the first studio album ”Stars Reach The Abyss”, mastered by Jon Astley, brought the band on tour in England and Italy. The song "Meltdown Corp." was included in the annual compilation “The Reverb Conspiracy”, co-released by Fuzz Club and The Reverberation Appreciation Society (Levitation Austin). In 2015 their second studio album “As Medicine”, mixed by John Wills of Loop, was released through Picture In My Ear and Fuzz Club and distributed by The Committee To Keep Music Evil too. In the next two years the band toured Europe three times, also performing at the Secret Garden Party and Liverpool Psych Fest.

New Candys’ third and latest album “Bleeding Magenta” was released in 2017 by Fuzz Club and repressed in the US by Little Cloud Records, followed by its European promotional tour and a performance at SpaceFest in Gdańsk. In 2018 they toured Australia, headlining both Sydney and Melbourne Psych Fest and performing at the Adelaide Fringe. Next the band went on a US-Mexico tour and recorded a KEXP live session. In 2019 they completed a back to back tour of 50 shows in Europe, the US and Canada including Desert Stars Festival in Joshua Tree, Milwaukee Psych Fest, The Echo in LA, Hotel Vegas in Austin and Mercury Lounge in New York. A third European tour took place in September, including Levitation France and shows with The Warlocks and The Dandy Warhols and in January 2020 they played the Balkans for the first time. Some of their songs are featured on episodes of Showtime Networks original TV series "Shameless".

FERNANDO NUTI - vocals, guitar
ANDREA VOLPATO - guitar, backing vocals
DARIO LUCCHESI - drums, percussion

  • "The new record, Bleeding Magenta, I can't recommend it enough."
    KEXP's John Richards
  • “New Candys played to a full and partisan room, showcasing songs from their fantastic recent album Bleeding Magenta. These are 90s indie songs (in a very positive sense) precision tooled for playing live. They slay the room.”
    Clash Magazine on their Fuzz Club Eindhoven live show
  • “Mixing brooding psychedelia with post-punk stylings, the record captures the full intensity of their live show with devastating results.”
    Drowned In Sound
  • “New Candys sound like something between The Stooges and The Jesus And Mary Chain.”
    Primal Scream’s Simone Marie Butler
  • “Sounding like a mix of Tame Impala and Temples if they were to cross over to the dark side.”
    Orange Amplification
  • “Indie combo with a vintage British flavour and a knack for atmospheric psych-y confections.”
    Metro (British Newspaper)